Monday, Nov. 6, 1995 4:40 a.m.

Dear Lord,

I need a lot of training, molding and being worked on.  In choir I butted in place in order to sit beside my friend.  I shouldn’t have done that.  I should have just sat where there was an empty seat.  Why do I always think that I should be treated special and be given special privileges?  Lord, help me to be more humble and kind, and not always just thinking of myself.  When Jesus walked into a banquet hall He never sat in the choice seat, but He sat in the lowest seat.  Luke 14:10 says, “When thou art bidden, go and sit down in the lowest room; that when he that bade thee cometh, he may say unto thee, friend go up higher…”  By His example Jesus is teaching us how to act when we are in the company of our friends and other people.  He is giving us a lesson in humility.  He is showing us that those who take the lowest seat often gain the respect of others, where those who take the highest seat may be put down. Jesus is warning us not to be high-minded, but to be content with the lower things in life. “For whosoever exalteth himself shall be abased: and he that humbleth himself shall be exalted” (Luke 14:11).  Lord, instead of thinking people should give place to me, help me give place to others.  Help me minister unto others, instead of always wanting to be ministered unto.  Help me be friendly to others first, instead of waiting for others to be friendly first to me.  Help me have a selfless spirit willing to give, instead of a selfish spirit always wanting to get.  Help me not to seek my own honor, but rather seek to honor God.  Help me learn the lesson of a servant, “And Jesus took a towel.”

Leave a Reply

