December 30, 1995 7:15 p.m.

Dear Dairy, Today I listened to scripture on my Bible CD. I started with the Book of Matthew. My plans are to listen to the entire New testament. It seems that I understand it better when Alexander Scourby reads it. I long to fill my mind with scripture. My soul desires to be close to Christ and be like-minded with Him. I’ve asked Him to show me a ministry in which I can serve Him. When the children were small I knew what my ministry was. It was to raise them “in the nurture and admonition of the Lord” (Ephesians 6:4). However, the Lord has not lifted that ministry from me yet, even though they are in High School and preparing for college. But, somehow I can’t help but think that after they have graduated and are out of the home the Lord has another ministry for me. Perhaps these next few years will be my training ground to be drawn closer to Christ and brought into a deeper fellowship with Him. Yet, sometimes I’m afraid of the desert God seems to take all His servants through in order to train them and equip them for whatever battles lay ahead. I often wonder if I’m strong enough. But as my mother use to say, “Only one life to live, will soon be passed, Only what’s done for Christ, will last.” Lord, let me live my life invested in what’s important for all eternity.

Thought for today: God has a ministry for all of us. For those of you who still have children at home your ministry is to train them up in the ways of the Lord. “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it” (Proverbs 22:6). If your children are grown and out of the home God has another ministry for you. Pray and ask God to reveal to you what ministry He has for you. May you invest your life in what’s important for all eternity.

Leave a Reply

