God’s Silence

Friday, September 5, 1997 4:00 a.m.

Dear Dairy,

I was reading My Utmost for His Highest and noticed that I had bought it two years ago on October 9, 1995, so I decided that I would read again what I read that first day. The  strange thing is, I thought that I had turned to October 9th, but now looking back I see that I accidently read October 11th. I don’t believe that it was an accident, however; I believe God lead me there. October 11th devotional is called, “After God’s Silence – What?” This really spoke to my heart because here lately God had been silent on a matter I’ve been earnestly praying about. I know God has heard my prayer, but for some reason He has remained silent. Oswald Chambers wrote, “Has God trusted you with a silence? His silence is the sign that He is bringing you into a marvelous understanding of Himself…God has trusted you in the most intimate way possible, with an absolute silence…The manifestation of the answer in time is a matter of God’s sovereignty…If Jesus Christ is bringing you into the understanding that prayer is for the glorifying of His Father, He will give you the first sign of His intimacy – Silence” (My Utmost for His Highest, p. 285). After reading this I realized that God gave me the answer to my prayer. His answer was, “Wait in silence.” And with this answer He gave me peace.

Thought for Today: Time is nothing to God. If God has been silent on a matter you have earnestly been praying about He is bringing you into His greater revelation.

Leave a Reply

