A Dear Friend

Sunday, January 4, 1998 12:00 Midnight

Dear Diary,

Dear Jesus, I’m so glad that I can talk to you at any time of the day or night. I don’t have to wait till morning. I don’t have to make an appointment, or wait in line. I can talk to you anytime all day long. I’m so glad that you live inside my heart and you can hear my every thought, even thoughts that I don’t realize are in my mind. Jesus, you are such a dear friend. You are my constant companion, closer than a brother. You lift me up when I am down, and comfort me when I am sad. You give me courage to go on when I want to turn back. You give me strength to get up each day and face life anew. Lord Jesus, I wouldn’t want to live if I didn’t have you. I love the verse in scripture where it speaks about God’s wings. O’ how I long to be under the shadow of thy wings. There is just something about that thought that makes me feel safe and secure. Hold me Lord, shelter me, for I am weak and afraid. I put my trust in thee, and thee alone. Fold your wings around me and  protect me from the storm. I come willingly, as a baby chick to the mother hen. Under the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice. “He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust” (Psalm 91:4).

Thought for Today: “What a friend we have in Jesus. All our sins and griefs to bear. What a privilege to carry, everything to God in prayer” (Joseph M. Scriven).

Leave a Reply

