Our Ministry

Dear Diary,

Tuesday, February 24, 1998  5:25 a.m.

Once again the Lord is dealing with me. I felt physically and emotional drained, so I decided not to go and minister at the nursing home. But then I read Amy Carmichael’s IF, “If I put my happiness before the well-being of the work entrusted to me; If though I have this ministry and have received much mercy, I faint, Then I know nothing of Calvary love” (p.37). Lord, I’m sorry for shirking the ministry you’ve given me. It is just my old self showing its ugly face again. That is something I have to constantly battle with. When Elijah was physically drained after the victory on Mt. Carmel, he lost heart. (I Kings 19:8-14). But God gave him rest and the strength to go on. II Corinthians 12:15 says, “I will very gladly spend and be spent for you.” How unwilling I am to be spent for Christ. It makes me feel ashamed when I think of all that Christ has done for me. Lord, help me be willing to be spent for thee and willing to give my all for thee no matter how tired or physically drained I feel. Your not asking me to go into the jungles of Africa, or to endure beatings and rivaling of men, but to go into a loving environment surrounded by friends. Lord, forgive me help me be willing to minister for thee.

Thought for Today:   May we give of ourselves for Christ, and be willing to be spent for Him in the ministry He has entrusted to us.

Leave a Reply

