A New Awakening

Sunday, June 21, 1998 7:45 p.m.

Dear Diary,

Somehow today seems like I’ve had a new awakening. I don’t even know how to explain it, but somehow I feel that my life, as I know it now, is coming to an end and a new life is about to begin. A new awakening were Philippians 1:21, “For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain” has become first and foremost. I no longer see my goal in life as satisfying my needs, but now my goal is to please my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. My purpose for living now is to serve my master and please the one who gave himself for me. I think it all started when I visited this lady in the hospital. She was very old and unable to walk, or even get out of bed for that matter. Life for her was basically over, and all that mattered now was eternity and what she had done for Christ. I went to the hospital that day carrying a vase of flowers for a friend I knew, but she had been discharged. So I decided to use the flowers to encourage whomever God laid upon my heart. I asked a nurse if there was anyone she knew that needed cheering up. She took me to this lady’s room. After talking with the lady, whose name was Jean, I found out that she was 80 years old and had fallen and broken her hip. Her husband had died earlier that year and her only son was unsaved.  She was a Christian and had been praying for God to give her peace and to show her that he would never leave her. I gave Jean the flowers, read John 14:1-6, and prayed with her for the Lord to give her peace, and I also prayed for her son. She said that I was the answer to her prayer. As I drove home, pondering on all that had just happened, I came to realize that all that matters in this life is Christ. Nothing else matters, and I must make a difference. It seems that we live in stages and it became clear to me that I was about to begin a new stage in my life, one were Philippians 1:21 would become my life’s new goal.

Thought for Today: Make every moment count and live your life for Christ.

One thought on “A New Awakening

Leave a Reply

