What is Love?

Thursday, March 8, 1999  2:35 p.m.

Dear Diary,

I heard a sermon on the radio which gave me a new understanding of love. So many times I would think to myself – I really don’t know what love is. I always thought of love as a feeling like warm fuzzies. Then this preacher on the radio said, “Love is a behavior.” Wow! Love is me choosing to treat another person in a certain way. Love is giving of myself to another person sacrificially. The greatest verse in the Bible about love is John 3:16, “For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son…” There is no greater love than this, “That a man lay down his life for his friends” (John 15:13). Love is a chosen behavior. So it doesn’t matter if the romance has gone out of the marriage, or if your mate has grown old and ugly, or that you just don’t “feel” in love any more. So what! Love is you choosing to care. Love is serving and giving of yourself to your mate for Christ’s sake, who loved us and gave himself for us. (Ephesians 5:2).

Thought for Today: Love is a chosen behavior, so “choose” to love.

Leave a Reply

