What a Friend

Sunday,  April 1, 2001  5:10 a.m.

Dear Diary,

I’ve come to realize why I don’t like to have music on while I’m alone in the house or driving in the car. It’s because I’m constantly talking to God. It’s like He’s my constant companion, my bosom-buddy. I understand Hebrew 13:5 more fully where Jesus, himself, said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” He can’t ever leave me because He lives inside my heart. I can feel His presence. I talk to Him all the time. It’s like I have my own invisible friend I’m always discussing things with. Sometimes I talk out loud to him, which I’m trying to stop because people think I’m talking to myself, but I’m not. Sometimes I hug myself, but I’m not hugging myself, I’m hugging Jesus who lives inside me. It is such a comfort to have a best friend like this. A friend who loves me, cares for me and keeps me from evil. A friend who knows my every thought even before I say it. A friend who understand me better than I understand myself. I find myself thanking Him for everything, even a parking place. How wonderful to have a friend like Jesus.

Thought for Today:  “What a friend we have in Jesus, All our sins and griefs to  bear. What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer.” (Joseph M. Scriven 1819 -1886).

Leave a Reply

