Seven Petitions

Friday, February 6, 2004  8:20 a.m.

Dear Diary,

Jesus’ Prayer of intercession in John 17, is the greatest intercessory prayer ever prayed.  C.I. Scofield notes tells us that in the first verse when Jesus says, “Father, the hour is come; glorify thy Son, that thy Son also may glorify thee.” that Jesus is asking seven petitions.

1.That He may be glorified as the Son who has glorified the Father.

2.  For His restoration to His eternal glory.

3.  For the safety of believers from the world and the evil one.

4. For the sanctifications of believers.

5. For the spiritual unity of believers.

6. That the world may believe.

7. That believers may be with Him in heaven to behold and share His glory.

I don’t know about you, but that makes me feel safe to know that Jesus is praying for me.  I need all the prayer I can get.  My favorite verse in Jesus’ intercessory prayer is verse 20.  “Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word.”  That’s us!  “Blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed” (John 20:29).

Thought for Today:  “That they all may be one, as thou, Father, art in me, and I in thee, that they also may be one in us…” (John 17:21).

Leave a Reply

