IF

Tuesday, April 27, 2004  5:00 a.m.

Dear Diary,

The word if is small, but yet it has so much meaning.  For example, one could say, if I long for spiritual flattery I have the wrong motives.  If I long for men’s approval instead of God’s approval, it will come to not.  Actually, the Lord said “if” more than he said “do”.  Here are a few scriptures that start with the word If.  “If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you…” (John 15:7).  “If thou doest well, shalt thou not be accepted?..” (Genesis 4:7).  “…if ye shall hearken diligently unto my commandments…” (Deuteronomy 11:13).  “…If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed…” (Matthew 17:20).  “…if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart…thou shalt be saved.” (Romans 10:9).  “If any man serve me, let him follow me…” (John 12:26).  “…If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily and follow me.” (Luke 9:23).  “If ye love me, keep my commandments.” (John 14:15).  Amy Carmichael wrote, “If there be any reserve in my giving to Him who so loved that He gave His Dearest for me; if there be as secret “but” in my prayer, ‘anything but that, Lord,’ then I know nothing of Calvary love.” (IF, p. 57).

Thought for Today:  Lord, help me with my if’s.  Help me obey, follow, believe, and please Thee.  Help me say, “If it be Thy will, Lord.”

Leave a Reply

