Strife

Saturday, May 8, 2004  12:00 Midnight

Dear Diary,

Strife among Christian co-workers is common, which is unfortunate.  Amy Carmichael had to deal with this so much in her Dohnavur Fellowship that she wrote a book about it called, IF.  It deals with trying to make Christian co-workers work together in Christ-like harmony. Amy wrote “If I feel bitterly towards those who condemn me, as it seems to me, unjustly, forgetting that if they knew me as I know myself they would condemn me much more, then I know nothing of Calvary love.” (IF, p.48). Isn’t that the truth. If they could hear our true thoughts, see our real heart, they would condemn us much more.  Apparently, this type of strife happens alot.  But it is just Satan’s way of hindering the furtherance of the gospel.  Look at Paul and Barnabas, they had so much strife over John Mark that they parted ways.  This type of strife ought not be.  Philippians 2:3 says, “Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves.”

Thought for Today:  Lord, give me lowliness of heart, love and respect for my co-labors in the gospel.

P. S. My Devotional called Eternal Streams, the first volume of a 12 book series, can be ordered online at Amazon.com or in your local bookstore. ISBN: 978-1-944559-02-1

Leave a Reply

