Unaware

Friday, May 21, 2004  8:00 a.m.

Dear Diary,

I asked myself this question: “What is my purpose in life?”  I started to wonder what was left for me to do?  When my children were small my purpose was to “bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.” (Ephesians 6:4).  But now that they are grown, what is my purpose?  Who am I to direct now?  Who is there to hear my counsel?  Then it came to me that the purpose for my life is to glorify God.  If I fail at that, I have failed at all.  I am to live my life godly, holy, fearing God, uplifting others and witnessing of God’s grace.  While I was coming to the realization of this, God sent a little cardinal to my window.  The little cardinal began to sing.  He was unaware of how much joy he brought me.  He just sang because that’s what  he was born to do.  I’m sure there are times God uses us to encourage and lift-up someone, and we too just like this little cardinal, are totally unaware.  It’s not our place to choose how or where God will use us.  Our purpose is just to sing the song we were born to sing.

Thought for Today: Poem by Josie Blocher

The cardinal sang not knowing he cheered me so,

Unaware his bright color pleased.

It was no new song he sang, just what came naturally.

But God used that little cardinal to lift and brighten my soul.

But, to know just how he cheered me, he’ll never know.

 

Leave a Reply

