God’s Crushing Thumb

Friday, October 1, 2004  5:00a.m.

Dear Diary,

Yesterday I read My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers and it hit the nail on the head.  It said how God will crush you with His Thumb in order to make you poured out wine for others.  I feel as though I’m being crushed; but the question is: is my wine sweet or bitter?  Am I yielding to His squeeze?  Oswald Chambers said, “God can never make us wine if we object to the fingers He uses to crush us with” (My Utmost for His Highest, p.274).  We say, if only God would crush me with His own thumb, I’d obey.  But God uses the fingers and thumb of other people to crush us.  He uses people we don’t like or circumstances we don’t want to be in; so we object.  He may use that neighbor, that co-worker, that boss, or perhaps that family member.  If you are going to be wine you must first be crushed.  People can’t drink grapes.  But in order for you to be sweet wine you must be submissive to His squeeze, or else your wine will be bitter.  What is crushing you today?  Accept whatever, or whoevers, thumb He is using to crush you and become sweet wine that can be poured out for others.

Thought for Today:  “You cannot drink grapes.  Grapes become wine only when they have been squeezed” (Oswald Chambers).

Leave a Reply

