Do The Next Thing

Thursday, February 17, 2005  3:25 a.m.

Dear Diary,

I’ve been reading My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers.  It spoke to my heart and was so appropriate. Jesus took His disciples to the garden of Gethsemane.  His hour had come and He went there to pray.  He asked the disciples to pray also.  But the disciples fell asleep.  This is so typical of me.  I purpose in my mind that I’m going to get up early, be diligent, pray; but instead, I fall asleep.  The first time the Lord found the disciples sleeping He said, “…could you not watch with me one hour?” (Matthew 26:40).  Then He found them asleep the second time.  When He found them asleep the third time He said, “Sleep on now, and take your rest: behold, the hour is at hand…” (Matthew 26:45).  If we sleep when God asks us to pray, that opportunity is lost for ever.  We can not get it back; but we then need to rise and do the next thing.  What is the next thing?  Oswald Chambers says, “Never let the sense of failure corrupt your new action…Let the past sleep, but let it sleep in the bosom of Christ, and go out into the irresistible future with Him.” (Oswald Chambers, p.49).

Thought for Today:  Get up, do the next thing, and never give up.

Leave a Reply

