Do Your Part

Wednesday, May 11, 2005  4:20 a.m.

Dear Diary,

Oswald Chambers said, “We cannot do what God does, and God will not do what we can do.” (My Utmost for His Highest, p.131).  We cannot save ourselves, God does that.  But once we are saved, God will not give us good habits; we must do that ourselves.  He will not give us godliness, we must work at that ourselves.  God gives us salvation and grace, but we must obey the light we are given, grow in Him and turn from our sin.  So many Christians still continue in their ungodly habits.  They are saved, but they have not yet embraced a purer lifestyle, purer thoughts, and purer habits.  It is up to us, with God’s help, to grow in grace and righteousness and godliness.  I am convinced that this is a daily dying to self.  As Paul said, “…I die daily.” (I Corinthians 15:31).  Oswald Chambers said, “…we have to work out the salvation God has worked in” (My utmost for His Highest, p. 131).  We have to get into the habit of doing good and godly things.

Thought for Today:  Lord, help me die to myself.  Help me work in this early realm the purposes You have ordained for me to do. “And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” (Romans 12:2).

Leave a Reply

