Abide in Me

Wednesday, June 15, 2005  6:00 p.m.

Dear Diary,

Somehow my mind is different now.  I want to read and listen to scripture.  I want to talk about God to others.  I want to study God’s Word.  Oswald Chambers wrote, “God will not make me think like Jesus, I have to do it myself; I have to bring every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ.  ‘Abide in Me’ – in intellectual matters, in money matters, in every one of the matters that make human life what it is.” (My Utmost for His Highest, p.166).  It reminds me of “Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you.” (Matthew 6:33).  Jesus is to be on your mind at home, at the workplace, in the supermarket, and wherever you are.  You need to ask yourself: am I pleasing God by the way I look, the way I talk, the way I conduct myself?  Is there someone I can witness too or encourage today?  How can I glorify God and being others to Him?  All your effects, all your thoughts and your ways of living are to be centered around Jesus Christ.  “Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 2:5).

Thought for Today:  Jesus says, “Abide in me as I abide in you.” (John 15:4).

Leave a Reply

