One Drop

Friday, April 14, 2006  4:10 a.m.

Dear Diary, (I just want to remind you, dear reader, that these blog entries are taken from my diary on the day, month, and year I wrote them.)

Today is Good Friday.  Today our LORD died on the cross, only to rise again.  It is raining at the moment.  It always seems to rain on Good Friday.  It is like all nature is mourning the death of its creator, and the death of our Savior on the cross. It is like each drop of rain represents the drops of blood shed for mankind.  Each drop is a symbol of Christ’s blood atonement shed for many, and one drop was shed for me. We are redeemed, “…with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot:” (I Peter 1:18).

Thought for Today:  Poem by Josie Blocher

The blood that Flowed from Calvary, One drop, I know, was shed for me.

That fountain’s flow atonement made, All my ransom hast Thou paid.

Purge me with hyssop on Thy lips lain, That precious blood from Thy side slain.

Great drops of blood from Thy thorn-crowned head, One drop, I know, for me was shed.

Leave a Reply

