Our Appointed Lot

Thursday, April 27, 2006   4:00 a.m.

Dear Diary,

I’ve been listening to Daniel on my Bible CD. Amy Carmichael quoted this verse about our appointed lot. “That none of you might be unnerved by you present trial: for you yourselves know that they are our appointed lot.” (I Thessalonians 3:3, Weymouth version). King James Version says it this way, “That no man should be moved by these afflictions: for yourselves know that we are appointed there unto.” (I Thessalonians 3:3). God is sovereign over all that happens to you and me. Nothing comes of its own, all is our appointed lot. When Paul wrote these words in I Thessalonians 3:3 “for yourselves know that we are appointed there unto,” he was writing it to the Thessalonian Church who was being persecuted. And we think we have problems! At least we’re not being tortured or put to death for our faith. Our troubles are nothing compared to the early Church. It makes me ashamed that I fuss and stew over trifles. Here I sit in ease, surrounded by comforts, and still, I grumble. Thank you Lord for my lot and help me be content with the  lot you have chosen for me.

Thought for Today: “If monotony tries me, and I cannot stand drudgery. If stupid people fret me and little ruffles set me on edge. If I make much of the trifles of life, Then I know nothing of Calvary love” (IF, Amy Carmichael, p. 53).

Leave a Reply

