Cast Down

Monday, October 22, 2007  4:00 a.m.

Dear Diary,

Depression is real and it comes to us all. Even David wrote, “Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.” (Psalm 42:11). David, like the rest of us, got depressed and his soul became cast down, but God was his helper. There are three things you need to do when you become cast down.

Pray – Psalm 55:16-17 says, “As for me, I will call upon God, and the Lord shall save me. Evening, and morning, and at noon, I will pray, and cry aloud; and he shall hear my voice.” Prayer lifted David, and prayer shall also lift you.

Be Thankful – In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” (I Thessalonians 5:18). Nothing happens by chance, all is of God. He is in every detail. Thank God for His ever-lasting love and mercy.

Surrender – Accept God’s will for your life. Surrender to His will. Only then will the peace of God come. Philippians 4:6-7 tells us to “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

  1. Thought for Today: Pray, be thankful and surrender, and God will comfort your soul. “In the day when I cried thou answeredst me, and strengthenedst me with strength in my soul.” (Psalm 138:3).
Leave a Reply

