The Bird Feeder

Tuesday, February 3, 2009  Noon

Dear Diary,

Marvin fed the birds this morning. It is nice to see them again. I quit feeding them because I was sick and it was zero degrees out; so they stopped coming. But they are back and such a delight to watch. We have two or three Cardinal families, two Blue Jay families, plus Black-eyed Juncos. They are gray with white bellies. Then, of course, there is the usual mix of sparrows. Matthew 6:34 says, “Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them.” God feeds His birds and He feeds us. There is not one sparrow that falls to the ground but that our heavenly Father knows. And there is not one concern that happens to us but that our heavenly Father knows. As I watch the birds flutter around the bird feeder, I can’t help but know that God watches me.

Thought for Today: “His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me” (Song by Civilla D. Martin, 1905).

Leave a comment